Candy Chang. Before I Die…

7 Jan
Antes de morir yo quiero... by Daquella manera
Antes de morir yo quiero…, a photo by Daquella manera on Flickr. ]

Candy Chang painted the side of an abandoned house in chalkboard paint, stencilled “Before I Die, I want to…” all over it and then left a box of coloured chalks for the locals of New Orleans to write what they wished. Seems simple but no one else did it. And it has made a creative space out of nothing. Twenty-four hours after it’s construction it was bursting with red, yellow and blue scribbles:

Before I die I want to be tried for piracy.
Before I die I want to fry a toad.
Before I die I want to understand.

Some messages will make you smirk, others will make think. A lot of them will simply make you shrug but it is an honest window into the human condition. Some of us aspire, some of us don’t. Some of us have suffered , some of us haven’t. But we all share the same public walls.

4 Responses to “Candy Chang. Before I Die…”

  1. rlbrizzell January 7, 2013 at 2:18 am #

    This is awesome and its bringing back a lot of good memories. I saw one of these walls in Brooklyn, NY about 1 year ago near my old college! I’m going to post it up on my blog!

    Although we don’t have the wall to write on, what is your, “before I die” sentence?

  2. KAJA January 7, 2013 at 12:38 pm #

    Yea I think they’re all around the world. Aaah man, so many things. Finish the Sopranos boxset is up there. And also stop wishing for things. How about you?

    • rlbrizzell January 7, 2013 at 6:32 pm #

      Ha believe it or not, watching the Sopranos is on my list of things to do as well. On the more serious side of things, I have an ongoing desire to make an impact in whatever I do so… before I die, I want to make an impact and watch the sopranos!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Before I Die. . . | Rob Brizzell - January 7, 2013

    […] via Candy Chang. Before I Die…. on Slim Clippings […]

Leave a Reply

